Think on These Things

I took a bit of a break last week to get re-engaged with real life.  It was a busy week.  I started Tuesday a little behind, which seemed to snowball through my schedule.  Additionally, I tend to over-schedule myself with social activities when I’ve been hermit-y, so my weekend was a bit crazy.

Last week wasn’t perfect by any means.  I didn’t get as much sleep as I would have liked.  I didn’t cook as much as I would have liked.  My apartment was a huge mess until yesterday, and now my bedroom is a huge mess because I shoved most of the clutter in there before company came over.  I didn’t get any exercise, and I didn’t practice my guitar.

It’s easy for me to get distracted by these things.  It’s easy for me to look at my life and see all of the less-than-perfect moments that fill in the cracks and spaces in my day.  It’s easy to look around and see all of the things that I’ve let slide.

But I’m trying to stay focused on the positive, so one of the Sanity Manifesto points that I really focused on last week was to write down three things each day that I was grateful for (#20).  I didn’t actually write mine down, but after I turned out the lights each night as I was drifting off to sleep, I counted down three good things about that day.  It helped my perspective.  It helped me see that last week was not just a crazy, busy week in which I failed to meet some of my goals.  Instead, it helped me to reframe last week as a crazy, busy week in which I met many of my goals despite a hectic schedule.

So, what went well last week?  I got to all of my classes, and was only late once.  I completed all of the assignments that were due.  I spent time with friends outside of school.  I spent at least some time with God every day.  I listened to some good music every day.  I studied and worked and wore makeup every day.  I kept going.

I think the last thing is the biggest for this week.  When things got crazy or I hadn’t had enough sleep, I didn’t retreat into my shell and refuse to engage with the world.  Instead, I took a deep breath, thought about the bigger picture and kept moving forward.  When I was running late for class on Thursday, I didn’t get anxious over walking in late.  I kept pushing forward.  When I had company coming over and I was running behind schedule, I didn’t call off the event.  I decided that welcoming people into my home was more important than appearing to be an obsessive housekeeper and that friendship would overcome an unvacuumed floor.

I’m learning to let go of perfection.  I’m learning to focus on the positive.  I’m learning to live where I am instead of wishing myself six steps ahead.

What were you grateful for this week?

Standard

Leave a Reply

