Finding Sanity

One of my favorite things about the blogosphere is that people are so honest.  Books can be discouraging because when you read a book, the story is over.  The writer is finished with that part of the story arc, and all the loose ends are neatly tied up.  The reason they got the book deal in the first place is that they found their solution and fixed their problem.  In the real-time world of blogging, though, it’s all about the journey.  These are real people living real lives with all of their messiness and confusion and failure hanging out.  Some of my favorite bloggers are women who admit to struggling with the same things I do, whether that’s housekeeping or routines or doubt.  These are people who are still learning, growing, and asking questions.

So today, as I was trying to move out of depression-land and settle back into real life, it was encouraging for me to read a post by one of my favorite bloggers about how she is struggling with keeping routines.  In her post, she linked to a 25 point “Sanity Manifesto” that she had found encouraging.  (Are you seeing a pattern here, or is it just me?)  My first response to this was, “DEAR LORD HAVE MERCY!!!  I CAN’T DO TWO THINGS, MUCH LESS 25!!!”  But I clicked through to the post, anyway, and I was so glad that I did.

The manifesto is long and complicated, and I’m a long way from being able to incorporate all 25 of those habits into my daily life.  But there are some really great things in there, things that I know I need and never do or don’t do often enough to make a difference.  Even better than her manifesto, though, is the post she wrote to go with the printable version she made.

“So I’m a mess and we’re all failures — at least all the honest of us are.

And the truth is, no one ever runs before they take baby steps.”

The rest of it is equally wonderful, and you should go read it.  It’s great, uplifting prose, and the printout is really pretty.

I’m about a week behind on my blogging, but I’m proud of myself for sticking to it this long.  If I wrote a manifesto for sanity, writing daily would definitely be on it.  It helps me live more deliberately.  It helps me focus my efforts and keep track of my progress.  It helps me keep my head clear.

I may never have a 25-point routine, but I can begin to incorporate some of these 25 things into my daily life.  So for the next few weeks, I’m going to be trying each of these things for a day (or a few days) and then writing about my experience and whether or not I’m going to try to stick with it.  I probably won’t go in order, and I may not do all 25.  We’ll see.

I’m also going to start writing in the mornings instead of before I go to bed.  Now that I’m back in school, I find that the last thing I want to do at the end of the day is to think of 500 words worth of anything.  It’s not really a good way to wind down.

How are you doing on your New Year’s Resolutions?  Is your routine better than it was at the beginning of the month?

Standard

Leave a Reply

